RAVAN XB3 Satellite

Satellite RAVAN XB3 (Radiometer Assessment Using Vertical Aligned Nanotubes, Ravan XB-3)
Form factor CubeSat
Units or mass 3U
Status Operational? (Science mission ended in August 2018 and operational as of February 2019 but no news found since last checked 2023-06-09)
Launched 2016-11-11
NORAD ID 41849
Deployer P-POD (Poly-Picosatellite Orbital Deployer)
Launcher Atlas V
Organisation Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (JHU/APL)
Institution University
Entity Academic / Education
Country US
Manufacturer AIVT by Blue Canyon
Operator Blue Canyon
Launch brokerer Tyvak
Partners NASA Earth Science Technology Office, L-1 Standards and Technology, Draper Laboratory, Blue Canyon

Measure the absolute imbalance in the Earth's radiation budget using radiometer.


Demonstrate technology needed to measure the absolute imbalance in the Earth's radiation budget for the first time, giving scientists valuable information to study our climate. Demonstrate a radiometer that is compact, low-cost, and low-uncertainty. The radiometer uses a gallium fixed-point black body as a built-in calibration source and a vertically aligned carbon nanotube (VACNT) absorber. VACNTs are the blackest known substance. Neither the VACNT nor gallium black body has ever been used in an orbiting scientific instrument.

Successful demonstration will pave the way for a constellation Earth radiation budget mission that can provide valuable measurements needed to significantly advance our understanding of ongoing and future climate change.

Sources [1] [2] [3] [4]
Photo sources [1]
COTS subsystems
  • PLATFORM - Blue Canyon
Subsystems sources [1]
Keywords Globalstar or Iridium or Inmarsat
On the same launch

Last modified: 2024-05-29

Feel free to connect at any time.

Created by Erik Kulu

Email: erik.kulu@nanosats.eu
LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/erikkulu

Social Platforms

LinkedIn: Nanosats
Twitter: @nanosatellites

Sister Websites

NewSpace Index: newspace.im
Factories in Space: factoriesinspace.com

Copyright © 2014 - 2024 Erik Kulu